Asking for healing?

I found this sermon, by Kevin DeYoung really challenging and convicting as I’ve been convicted lately that I’m lacking in faith.  I’ve been wondering if the root of my lack of faith is the sin of unbelief.  It’s not that I don’t truly believe that the Lord can heal me, because of course when it comes down to it, I believe He is all powerful and able.  On the other hand, it seems that unbelief kind of creeps in and manifests itself in unexpected ways.  After 9 years of living with extreme fatigue, dizziness, etc., I’ve just gotten used to the trial before me and I forget to pray and ask for God’s healing.  I face each day, prayerfully relying on the Lord’s strength to get me through.  In a sense I’m more reliant than a healthy person because I carry around with me a constant reminder that I need help from my powerful God just to complete basic daily tasks.  Oddly enough, when someone is acutely sick, I am quick to pray for God’s healing hand to be about that person.  Honestly, I rarely think to pray for complete healing for myself anymore.

Early on in this battle the Lord began to graciously show me that I could find complete contentment in Him, no matter my circumstances.  I could either embrace my lot and seek to glorify God in the midst, or I could become embittered and frustrated, letting my circumstances rule my life.  By God’s grace, I’ve, for the most part, chosen the first way.  Maybe in a way I’ve grown too comfortable in this trial.  I wonder if I don’t ask for healing because I don’t want to be disappointed if it doesn’t happen. If I’m battling hard for contentment and (usually) winning the battle, why upset things by dwelling on healing?  On the other hand, I think I am called to ask my Father for good gifts and to believe that He indeed can heal me.  It may not be His will to heal me, and I must prepare my heart for this, but receiving a possible “no” as an answer shouldn’t keep me from asking.  It is good and right for me to be asking the Lord continually for healing.  He desires to give good gifts to His children!  I think this is one way where disbelief has certainly crept in, do I truly believe this?

I wonder how many of you wrestle with some of these thoughts/battles?  How do you strike a balance of good desires and asking for good gifts while at the same time humbly submitting to the Lord’s will in all things?

If you’ve wrestled with any of these thoughts, I’d encourage you to listen to this sermon by Kevin DeYoung.  I think it will encourage your heart and you may even find yourself bringing your requests before the Lord with a sense of urgency and confidence!

Matthew 7:7-11

  7 “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. 8 For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.    9 “Which of you, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone? 10 Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? 11 If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him!”

One thought on “Asking for healing?

  1. Oh sweet lady, that you could put into words my very own thoughts. Suffering for the past year with what seems to be pots syndrome and with 9 children to care for….well you know what it it must be like. I will pray for healing for you dear one. I will listen to the sermon you suggested saw well.

Leave a Reply

