“Rose from Brier” ~ Amy Carmichael

This summer, a sweet friend from church handed me a book she thought might bring me encouragement.  She hadn’t read it, but trusting the author proceeded to lend it to me.  Oh what a little blessing this book is!!  The book is a compilation of journal entries by Amy Carmichael,  written as she was bed bound by pain and suffering.  The reflections are honest, and her perspective is more than refreshing.  Always going back to the cross of Christ to find her comfort and happiness.  I’m looking forward to posting some of my favorite parts from the book.  Here’s a poem written by Amy that I read tonight (sadly I’m almost done with the book!)

Winter

  “When my leaves fall wilt Thou encompass them?
The gold of autumn flown, the bare branch brown,
The brittle twig and stem,
The tired leaves dropping down,
Wilt Thou encompass that which men call dead?
I see the rain, the coldly smothering snow,
My leaves dispirited,
Lie very low.

So the heart questioneth, white Winter near;
Till jocund as the glorious voice of Spring
Cometh His, “Do not fear,
But sing, rejoice and sing,
For sheltered by the coverlet of snow
Are secrets of delight, and there shall be
Uprising that shall show
All that through Winter I prepared for thee.”

~Amy Carmichael, “Rose from Brier”

Leave a Reply

