Humbling Myself and Listening to Truth

In a recent post I mentioned that I’ve been going through (along with my family) the kind of trial where I’ve had to, at times, rely on those around me to point me to the mercies and goodness of Christ.  I was encouraged as I came across this article tonight about emotions.  The following quote really stood out.  No matter what my emotions tell me, clinging to the cross right now includes humbling myself and listening to the Christians around me.

“A wise person listens to the Truth and listens to other people. A wise person listens. And this is no mere listening, as the book of James reminds us. It is really hearing, which doesn’t come naturally.”     ~Ed Welch

Read the entire article here.

Psalm 28:6-9

 “Praise be to the LORD,
       for he has heard my cry for mercy.

  The LORD is my strength and my shield;
       my heart trusts in him, and I am helped.
       My heart leaps for joy
       and I will give thanks to him in song.

  The LORD is the strength of his people,
       a fortress of salvation for his anointed one.

  Save your people and bless your inheritance;
       be their shepherd and carry them forever.”

Leave a Reply

