It will be alright

Tonight while reading to Lillian from “The Jesus Storybook Bible”, I was struck by a phrase, filled with hope.  It was the story of Jairus’ daughter from Luke 8.  Jairus was trying to find Jesus to heal his sick daughter and when he found him he said,

(Taken from the storybook bible)

“‘Jesus!’ he said, falling at Jesus’ feet.  ‘My daughter,’ he pleaded.  ‘Please–‘  But he didn’t need to beg because before he’d even finished speaking, Jesus reached out his hand and helped him up, ‘I’ll come at once,’ Jesus said.  Jairus’ eyes filled with tears.  Jesus was coming.  It would be all right.”

Did you catch the phrase that is so full of hope?  Jesus was coming.  It would be all right.

Plain and simple, this is what I need to meditate on.  Not on my symptoms (new or old), not on the troubles that seem to surround me, not on the endless meaningless tasks that so easily discourage me (laundry, dishes…).  I can’t live in heaven now but I can keep a “big picture” perspective, continually keeping in mind that Jesus is coming, and that since I’ve confessed my sins and believed in Him it will “be all right.” I still battle pain and hardship but the reality is that these trials will soon seem like nothing once I am in the presence of Christ for eternity.  Keeping it all in perspective helps me to persevere – even when I don’t feel like I can.

Romans 10:8-11

“8But what does it say? “The word is near you; it is in your mouth and in your heart,”that is, the word of faith we are proclaiming: That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. 10For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you confess and are saved. 11As the Scripture says, “Anyone who trusts in him will never be put to shame.” 12For there is no difference between Jew and Gentile—the same Lord is Lord of all and richly blesses all who call on him, 13for, “Everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”

James 5:7-8

“7Be patient, then, brothers, until the Lord’s coming. See how the farmer waits for the land to yield its valuable crop and how patient he is for the autumn and spring rains. 8You too, be patient and stand firm, because the Lord’s coming is near.”

Leave a Reply

