“Strength From Another”

I’ve been reading Jeremiah Burroughs‘ book “The Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment” and have definitely found it to be a jewel!  I was recently reminded of one of the awesome privileges of the Christian life as he talked about how Christians are given strength from outside of themselves for every circumstance/trial.  Here’s part of the quote that encouraged me and reminded me of the source of my strength.

“But a Christian finds satisfaction in every circumstance by getting strength from another, by going out of himself to Jesus Christ, by his faith acting upon Christ, and bringing the strength of Jesus Christ into his own soul, he is thereby enabled to bear whatever God lays on him, by the strength that he finds from Jesus Christ.”

Isaiah 12:2  “Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid. The LORD, the LORD, is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.”

Isaiah 40: 28-29 “Do you not know?  Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow tired or weary, and his understanding no one can fathom. He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.”

One thought on ““Strength From Another”

  1. Good morning Lisa, mom and I just read your latest entry. We celebrate the same Universal Truth with you. By the way Massanutten has 2 t’s in it. Love you Dad

Leave a Reply

