Chronic Fatigue + Desire For Organization = Sanctification

I have a burning desire to be organized.  Unfortunately my body doesn’t cooperate and I do well to accomplish the basics (laundry, cooking dinner and maybe a clean bathroom every few weeks).  Lately I’ve let this frustration take hold of me all too often.  I sinfully allow my desire for order in my home to become an idol and find myself anxiety ridden and frustrated even though I don’t have the energy to accomplish more than I’m doing.  Lord, help me to be controlled by your desires and not my own and to find contentment in you.

Today I am taking comfort in the words of this hymn by Frances Havergal – thank you Lord for your perfect peace!

Like a River Glorious

“Like a river glorious is God’s perfect peace, over all victorious in its bright increase: perfect, yet it floweth fuller every day, perfect, yet it groweth deeper all the way.

Hidden in the hollow of his blessed hand, never foe can follow, never traitor stand; not a surge of worry, not a shade of care, not a blast of hurry touch the spirit there.

Every joy or trial falleth from above, traced upon our dial by the Sun of Love; we may trust him fully all for us to do; they who trust him wholly find him wholly true.

Stayed upon Jehovah, hearts are fully blessed, finding as he promised, perfect peace and rest.”

2 thoughts on “Chronic Fatigue + Desire For Organization = Sanctification

  1. Lisa!
    What a great attitude. The Lord sees your heart and is honored by this mindset more than a spotless house.
    I am praying for you!
    You are such an example to me… press on in your dependence and faith in a trustworthy Lord…

  2. I think you wrote this blog post just for me!!!
    I am one who enjoys organizing. As a kid I would actually reorganize my closet just for fun.
    Life is much different now that I hardly have any energy. I’ve been discouraged lately because my house is so unorganized still after the move a month ago.
    Thanks for the encouragement and the reminder to be content in the Lord even when my apartment is a mess of boxes.

Leave a Reply

