“My yoke is easy and my burden is light”

I am almost finished with the book “Running Scared: Fear, Worry and the God of Rest” by Ed Welch and have been continually challenged and encouraged. The book has been such a timely reminder to me of the importance of talking with the Lord about our burdens. I so often carry an unnecessary load of concerns throughout my day when I am called to lay them at the feet of my Lord and allow Him to carry them for me. What a blessing it is to serve a God who cares and wants to know about our fears and concerns!

Philippians 4:6-7 “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

1 Peter 5:5-7 All of you, clothe yourselves with humility toward one another, because, ‘God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.’ Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”

Matthew 11:28-30 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

Leave a Reply

