Eternity, His Glory and My humility

One of the wonderful joys of Christian living is that we serve a God who delights in us and desires to help us understand Himself better. Over the past year and a half I have experienced this in an overwhelming way. After realizing that my view of heaven/eternal life was quite feeble and even a source of anxiety for my soul, I began to ask the Lord for a better understanding of Heaven. I asked Him to fill me with a deep longing for this place and once again I have been overwhelmed by His faithfulness.

During the process I was extremely humbled as the Lord convicted me that the reason I didn’t long for Heaven was that I didn’t love Him enough. The Lord showed me that a longing for Heaven is actually a longing for His glory and renown!

The Lord is faithfully answering my prayers by growing my love for Himself and His glory (although my love will always be inadequate for such a glorious God!). He has specifically answered my prayers by filling me with a deep longing to live with Him in eternity. I no longer fear the thought of eternity but yearn to be with my Heavenly Father who is the fulfillment of every need I have.

Psalm 108:1-5 My heart is steadfast, O God; I will sing and make music with all my soul. Awake, harp and lyre! I will awaken the dawn. I will praise you, O LORD, among the nations; I will sing of you among the peoples. For great is your love, higher than the heavens; your faithfulness reaches to the skies. Be exalted, O God, above the heavens, and let your glory be over all the earth.”

Leave a Reply

